Municipal Engineering Foundation Award for Excellence in Engineering

This award was introduced in 2003 to recognise the achievements of an engineer working in local government in Victoria who has throughout their career, given outstanding service to local government or been responsible for the execution of a Victorian local government project of special significance. The award is granted by nomination and presented biennially as the Cedric Tuxen Medal in honour of Cedric’s outstanding contribution to local government and as the first Chairman of the Foundation established in 1966.

Details of the contribution by Cedric Tuxen can be found in this article. Cedric Tuxen – Engineer Extraordinaire

Prior to 2003, the Cedric Tuxen Medal was available to an engineer who had given outstanding service reflecting devotion and contribution to local government in Victoria.

The Leonard Cheffers Excellence Award was made available to an engineer who had been responsible for a construction or project considered to be of special significance within local government in Victoria. The award was discontinued in 2002.

Award Winners:

Leonard Cheffers Excellence Award –

1991 – Ross Currie, Deputy City Engineer, City of Berwick
1994 – Robert Johns, City Engineer, City of Ararat
1997 – Michael McGlade, Wyndham City Council
2000 – John Stamp, Manager Projects, City of Manningham

(Award discontinued in 2002)

MEFV Award for Excellence in Engineering (The Cedric Tuxen Medal)

2019 – Geoff Glynn
2017 – Geoff Barrow
2015 – Malcolm Styles
2013 – Ross Goyne
2011 – Tony Rijs
2009 – Maurice Stabb
2007 – Warren Roberts
2005 – Claude Cullino
2003 – Bruce Douglas
2000 – Bill Smith
1999 – Darrell Treloar
1998 – L. John McKenzie
1997 – Ken McNamara
1996 – Robin Nuttall
1994/95 – No Award
1993 – Ian Robins
1992 – No Award
1991 – Bob Seiffert
1990 – John Nicol
1989 – John McKerrow
1988 – Ross MacKenzie
1987 – Ken Dowling
1986 – Norman Cottman
1985 – Max Pawsey
1984 – Alan Robertson

Keith Wood Excellence Award

Established in 2012 this award recognises the achievements of engineers working in local government in Victoria who were the recipients of an overseas study tour scholarship and produced a report of exceptional quality based on the study tour. The award is made on an occasional basis and there is no limit on the number of awards in any one year. To be eligible, the recipient is to produce a report of a very high standard that is relevant to current municipal engineering issues, indicates a depth of research and sophistication, produces recommendations that significantly advances improvements in the study topic and is noted for its readability and structure.

The award is a tribute to Keith Wood who provided a lifetime of work to engineering and in particular to local government engineering and the Municipal Engineering Foundation Victoria.

The award was presented for the first time in 2014 to Simon Thomas, General Manager City Works, City of Stonnington in recognition of his report from the 2012 Overseas Study Tour to Scandinavia and Europe titled ‘Liveability’ – a further dimension for assessing levels of service. Asset Management and Liveability Report – Simon Thomas